Legend Award Winners

2018 • Ron Romain
Mr. Romain holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Marketing from the University of Southern Indiana (USI). He is active in a number of civic and charitable organizations including University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees and Board of Visitors, Regency Commercial Associates Board of Managers, Koch Enterprises Board, St. Mary’s HR Committee, Southwest Indiana Business Leaders Early Childhood Roundtable, Signature School Foundation, and the Evansville Regional Business Committee.

2017 • Bill Bussing
Mr. Bussing is a 1974 graduate of Reitz Memorial High School, the University of Evansville and has earned three graduate degrees from the University of Notre Dame – J.D., Notre Dame Law School, MBA & Master’s degree in English. Mr. Bussing practices law and is the owner of the Evansville Otters. He is very involved in the community as president of the Bussing-Koch Foundation, Cecil A. and Mabel Lene Hamman Foundation and Notre Dame Club of the Tri-State. Additionally, he has been the director of the Bower-Suhrheinrich Foundation, a University of Evansville trustee and board member for the Catholic Education Foundation among other responsibilities.

2016 • Joe Unfried & Bill McKeon
Joe and Bill founded the Tri-State Hot Stove Baseball League in 1993.  They were teammates on the 1956 Evansville Braves, married local girls (sisters, in fact) and eventually settled in Evansville.  Joe was a standout athlete at Memorial High School and Evansville College and later was a coach and administrator at Bosse High School. He passed away in 2000. Bill, a native of New Jersey, has spent most of his life in baseball. He was a scout for the Philadelphia Phillies, Los Angeles Angels, Los Angeles Dodgers, Kansas City A’s, Kansas City Royals and San Diego Padres. He also is a former college baseball coach and has served the Evansville Otters as a coach, interim manager and radio commentator.

2015 • Paul Gries

When Paul Gries was named Central High School’s baseball coach in 1981, he dedicated himself to the job. During the 20 years he coached, Paul recorded 408 wins and 196 losses, which included seven IHSAA Sectionals, two Regional, and one Semi-State championship. The Bears were State runners-up in 1987. In addition, there were seven SIAC titles. Coaching honors include SIAC Coach of the Year in ’81, ’87 and ’98; North-South All-Star coach in 1987; and National Regional Coach of the Year in 2000. He was inducted into the Indiana Baseball Hall of Fame in 2002. In 2016, a committee was formed to raise money for current and future improvements and to name the Central High field “Paul Gries Field.” His name will always be connected with Central High School and the Tri-State Hot Stove League and to the sport he loved and devoted so much time.

2014 • Don Mattingly

A graduate of Memorial High School in Evansville, Don led the Tigers to a state record 59 straight victories through the 1978-79 season. Drafted out of high school, Don played his entire 14-year baseball career for the New York Yankees. After his playing career, he served as a hitting coach for the Yankees and Dodgers prior to taking on managerial positions with the Dodgers & Marlins.

2013 • Bob Griese

Drafted in 1967 by the Miami Dolphins, Griese led them to three consecutive Super Bowl appearances, including two Super Bowl victories. He is the only Dolphins Quarterback to win a Super Bowl. The former Evansville Rex Mundi High School & Purdue University star, Griese was inducted to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1990.

2012 • “Singing Ed” Nottle

Ed has called Evansville home since he met his wife Pat while pitching for the Evansville E-Sox in 1966. He is a baseball lifer, having coached and managed at every level — Triple-A Pawtucket Red Sox, Bullpen coach for Billy Martin’s Oakland A’s and serving the longest as Sioux City Explorers manager. At every step he has reached out to the community through song: hosting events at local restaurants.

2011 • Jim Byers

Former Evansville Reitz High School multi-sport athlete. Played football at University of Michigan and was later Head Football Coach and Athletic Director at University of Evansville.

2010Mike Blake – Most recognized media personality in the Tri-State. Over 40 years of sports coverage in Evansville.
2009 • Louise Owen – Legendary Evansville tennis star. Winner of local, national & international tournaments.

Bullpen Award Winners

The Bullpen Award is give each year to a member of the Tri-State Hot Stove League who has given meritorious service. To nominate a member for the Bullpen Award please fill out the form below.

2019 • Bill Frost

2018 • Dave Johnson

2017 •  Jr. Schillinger & Jeff Salat

2016 • Mike Goedde

2015 • Dave Pfettscher

2014 • Clark Exmeyer

2013 • Tony Jourdan

2012 • Steve Johnston

2011 • Steve Millay

2010 • Larry Broerman

2009 • Paul Gries

2008 • Gary Ankrom